Heisman Trophy: Five headed to NYC

Heisman TrophyWhen the 2016 Heisman Trophy winner is revealed on Saturday, there will be five players anxiously awaiting his name to be called.

The Downtown Athletic Club announced that the finalists for this year’s award are Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson (considered the overwhelming favorite), Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson (making his second consecutive trip to the event), Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma wide receiver Dede Westbrook and Michigan defensive back Jabrill Peppers.

Among those left at home this year: Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts, Texas running back D’Onta Foreman, Washington quarterback Jake Browning and San Diego State running back Donnel Pumphrey.

Alabama running back Derrick Henry broke a five-year string of quarterback winners in 2015. With Jackson the favorite and Watson the closest challenger, it seems likely the award will again belong to a quarterback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *